A quarter of Illinois counties have passed “gun sanctuary” resolutions

* Belleville News-Democrat … A “gun sanctuary” trend spreading across Illinois counties in support of Second Amendment rights has raised questions about just who is allowed to decide what is or isn’t constitutional where guns are concerned. At least 26 of Illinois’ 102 counties have passed “gun sanctuary” resolutions or similar measures. The term is a play on the phrase “sanctuary city,” which describes cities where political and law enforcement leaders limit their cooperation with federal immigration policies and vow to protect immigrant rights. “Gun sanctuary” advocates say they, too, deserve protection — from lawmakers in the capital pushing for stricter laws on firearms. […] The 26 counties are: Brown, Christian, Clark, Clay, Cumberland, Douglas, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Greene, Hamilton, Hardin, Henry, Iroquois, Jasper, Jefferson, Lawrence, Monroe, Perry, Pope, Saline, Shelby, Washington, Wayne, White and Woodford. […] Two counties, Madison and Williamson, plan to send the question to voters on the Nov. 6 general election ballot. Whatever gets their folks to the polls, I suppose. Madison and Williamson both have targeted legislative and congressional races this year.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.