How can gun owners stay legal, safe under Iowa’s new law? A Des Moines County sheriff explains

How can gun owners stay legal, safe under Iowa's new law? A Des Moines County sheriff explains

Des Moines County Sheriff Kevin Glendening had been advocating for legislation creating enhanced penalties or mandatory minimum sentences for repeat gun offenders. "There was some talk of that legislation, but then it was realized pretty quickly up at the Capitol that there was this gun bill that was laying in wait," said Glendening, who is in his first year on the Iowa State Sheriffs and Deputies Association Legislative Committee. The gun bill was House File 756 , a constitutional carry bill that will roll back what now are aggravated misdemeanor gun offenses to serious misdemeanors effective July 1. A serious misdemeanor in Iowa is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of between $315 and $1,875, while an aggravated misdemeanor is punishable by up to two years in jail and a fine of between $625 and $6,250. Additionally, those convicted of an aggravated misdemeanor involving a firearm or explosive no longer can obtain a permit to carry. "Any time you’re convicted of an aggravated misdemeanor involving a firearm, that’s a disqualifier to be able to carry a gun," Glendening said. "So now that it has been reduced down to a serious misdemeanor, that won’t disqualify them in the future, so the repeat might become more of an issue." Some crimes the new law will classify as misdemeanors, such as carrying a handgun while intoxicated, still can be charged as a class D felony under federal law. Possession of a firearm by a felon will remain […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.